Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Choices.....

I had two things I would have liked to do today, but I knew I couldn't do them both because of the timings.  Firstly, the Leicester Tigers Rugby Union team were hosting a pre-season open training session followed by a 'meet the players' session at the local Greshams School which is just over the road from us.  Several England players play for Leicester, including Dan Cole and Ben Youngs, and one player, Josh Bassett, used to play for Bedford when I had a season ticket there before we moved.  The other thing I wanted to do was to go over to Cromer as the RAF Red Arrows Aerobatic Team were due to display at the Cromer Carnival.  In the end, I decided it had to be the Red Arrows.

We knew parking and traffic in Cromer would be impossible so we got the bus to Sheringham and the train to Cromer.  It was a beautiful, sunny day and the town was full of holidaymakers waiting with anticipation for the display.  We joined the queue to enter the main showground just as the stewards came along the queue to tell people that, due to a technical fault with the planes, the Red Arrows had cancelled their display.

So, I missed both of the things I had wanted to do.  All was not lost though; we had a good couple of hours wandering around Cromer and a Fish and Chip lunch before returning home, so in the end it was a good day.  Just not what was planned.

This rather magnificent car was parked near to the showground.  I've added a couple of extras; a view of the lifeboat house at the end of the pier, and a view of the pier itself with the local goats doing their summer grazing of the cliff face in the foreground.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.