Garden Bounty

We are getting spoiled with this perfect weather. The last few days before a trip are always busy. After breakfast, I decided to find a candidate for tiny Tuesday. These baby squash will probably grow and need to be picked before we get home from camping. But they are simply adorable especially those teeny ones on the bottom left corner. This is from my second batch of squash plants. Bugs got the first three; my sister says we shouldn’t plant them until after June and she is correct. Thanks to our Tiny Tuesday host. I spent time at two grocery stores, picking up the fresh meat, cheese, fruit and veggies we will need. Hubby had an appointment first thing. We met back at the house and headed to get the camper from my mother’s. Along the way, we went to the bank, base pharmacy to get my meds, a hamburger joint to grab lunch, and a produce stand to get cantaloupe and corn. I wanted peaches but theirs were terrible. We visited with my mother a bit since we hadn’t seen her since before our COVID adventure. She gifted us with a whole strawberry shortcake, apple pie and two slices of pecan pie. They were some of the dessert leftovers from her card party last night; much more than she can eat before they spoil. My sister stopped by while we were out and dropped off two bags of my fav store bought cookies as a get well gift. That means I have no baking tomorrow for the trip. We’ll freeze the pie to use as hubby’s “birthday cake” on the 25th. Life is good! I put away all the groceries and there are leftovers for dinner so our jobs are complete for the day. Sure hope your outdoor temps have moderated and those who need it, get some nourishing rain. Stay safe folks. Thanks for stopping by. “There is nothing that is comparable to it, as satisfactory or as thrilling, as gathering the vegetables one has grown.” - Alice B. Toklas

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.