Alien on the Green

A good mate celebrated his 50th birthday today, so Carl and I and another mutual friend had arranged to bring him out for a meal. Other weekend commitments led to a bit of a logistical nightmare, which meant I drove over to Carl's place in the early evening, we got the DART in to town and a taxi back, all of which meant that my car was available at Carl's for tomorrow's drive down south of Dublin.

Being currently bookless, and running a bit early anyway, I stopped off in town on the way to Carl's and quickly treated myself to copies of the final two in the Harry Potter series. That was in a book shop in the hideously ugly Stephen's Green Centre, which meant I walked up Grafton Street after parking the car. That's when I saw this structure at the Stephen's Green end of the street. It's a spot where our city fathers each year instal a piece of sculpture for the delectation of the masses. This is this year's offering. The creator is uncredited, and I don't recognise the work. I can see it becoming a subject of pub conversation, though. Each of the sections is hinged, and moves when caught by the wind. It was another dull, damp day, but the wind only occasionally cooperated. I stood waiting with camera ready and waiting for action, but only got the tiniest hint of movement before having to give up, buy the books, rescue the car from the car park, and head for Carl's.

The meal was in Fallon & Byrne's, which I'd been very impressed with the last time I was there. It wasn't at all good tonight, unfortunately. I plumped for the same main course I'd had last time, but it was unrecognisable. I complained, mentioned how good it had been before, and asked if the chef had changed between times. He had. When it came to making u the bill, we were at least given some concessions, and a number of items weren't charged for, but the disappointing food (I wasn't alone in being unhappy) rather spoiled the evening. Once again it was on to the little Japanese bar nearby. We parted from the birthday boy in the early hours and got a taxi back to Carl's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.