Sad seller

Today's music session was down in Wicklow town, which is about 50km down the coast south of Dublin. I had arranged to pick up one of the guys en route, who was staying overnight in Bray. The weather was wet and windy, so I took Carl down to the local wine shop before heading down to Wicklow. I was parked right beside this Big Issue seller. I was taken by how hung-dog he looked, and by the fact that he might as well have been invisible for all the attention passers-by were paying to him, so I lifted the camera and grabbed this quick shot through the car windscreen. The moment was al the more poignant because he'd chosen to stand right outside Caviston's, a very up-market delicatessen/restaurant.

The drive to Wicklow was unpleasant because of the wind and the rain, but the music session was fine and the turnout was surprisingly high. We called in to Carl on the way back, watched a bit of telly in his place, and then continued back across the city. There was just time to grab a quick bite to eat before settling down for the Eurovision Song Contest. I enjoyed it. The staging was brilliant, I thought the standard of songs was higher than in recent years, and I was delighted with the winner. Apart from Norway I also liked Iceland, Greece, Azerbaijan, Bosnia/Herzogovine, Moldova and Malta.

NOTE: I've back-blipped yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.