Capital adventures

By marchmont

Nostalgia

A day out.  It was steady, drizzly rain all morning so raincoats and umbrellas when I met up with Oz cousin F and her new partner, A.  They were in the UK mainly on a surprise visit for his son but had come north to see her family's roots.  She thought I lived in France, so they'd booked a hotel, they didn't know there was a Festival, and a Tattoo on and they didn't appear to know about the Castle.  Hey ho!  It would have be so much easier if they'd stayed here, especially as they are now staying 4 not 2 nights with a car in the car park.

They'd already done the Castle and the tartan tat so my job was to lead the visit to the nostalgia sites.  By bus to Porty to see where her grandfather was born and went to school and then in the car to Cramond for the site of her grandparents' wedding in 1952.  He was a day off his 21st birthday, she was still 17.  It was dry, not cold and very still in Cramond and we had coffee and a scone by the estuary. We then ended the afternoon with a visit to the Manor to see her great aunt.

We started the morning having coffee in a Pret, out of a rain.  This woman came up and said 'hi' and it took me ages to work out it was L, my friend from College and Comm Ed days in Grampian/Aberdeen.  Haven't seen her for years and of course it was completely our of context. Luckily I did remember!

They dropped me off home and I then drove back down to get petrol (only £20 worth) and feed Alfie.  I bought fish 'n chips on the way home.  Forgot to order breaded, not battered, haddock.  Of course I regretted my purchase later.

Watched more eps of 'Offspring' and heard the fireworks.  The nights are fair drawin' in. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.