Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Let there be cake

I set my alarm for 4am in error, so it was a horrible early start to the day. (I could not get back to sleep). Later, I received the phone call I had feared, from my sister to say that her partner had died in the very early hours of this morning. She was phoned by the hospital just before midnight last night to say she must come in as soon as possible, and she was with him when he died, although he was not conscious. His death has been a shock, but the stroke was very severe and she knows he would not have coped well with the likely mental disability from it.

Rain was forecast today but I had a dry walk in the woods with Xena, then got ready for the coffee morning. There were seven of us and it was lovely to see each other again, and of course our friend who lives in Australia. This is the cake I made, its a pistachio, polenta and raspberry cake and it went down well. After everyone left my friend stayed and I caught up on her news and life in Australia.

It started raining after lunch, and we had quite a downpour this afternoon. I never thought I would be so excited to see rain! (by October I will be fed up with it already!)

I spoke to my sister again this afternoon. Thankfully we are going to see her in October, there have now been two deaths in the immediate family since we last visited there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.