An hour at the bouldering wall and I'd had enough. I haven't been there for three months and it was obvious, not to anyone else I don't suppose, just to me. The easy ones seemed so awkward. I must take some chalk with me next week, my hands were too sweaty.

I enjoyed watching one young man climb, he was so precise, so focussed, so delicate, and then I chatted with a young woman I've seen there before. She was with her mother and they were taking turns minding the baby,  but she said she was cramming the routes in because she might have to stop at any moment!

A yukky job has been done in the garden, I've moved the compost bin to somewhere more accessible, and turned the contents while I was at it.

I thought the builder who had covid last week was coming later today, but he's still not feeling great and so the quote is put back again. Oh well, no matter really. 

Edit: some thoughts on the European Championships climbing events - I've really enjoyed watching the speed, bouldering and lead events. All of the climbers are incredibly powerful and supple - I can only admire and dream. They're all 45 years ish my junior but what role models they are, particularly the women! 

If climbing had had such a high profile when I was young, would I have been inspired to take it up... instead of finding it by chance at the age of 61... who knows, but what I do know is that if a circus or similar was on the telly when I was a kid, you'd find me behind the settee trying out all the gymnastic and Cossack moves for all I was worth. Happy days :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.