Avoriaz

Another day , another mountain climb. This time. daughter Faye rode up to the goat village with me (see yesterday). We stopped for a coffee or two (extra) while she rang her partner James. He then got in the car and drove the three children up to the lower ski lift. From there they took a cable car up to meet us. After lunch up at Linderet James changed into his cycling gear and continued up the mountain with me while Faye went back down with the kids. Sound complicated? It was.

So James and I carried on on bikes up to Avoriaz. It’s a ski station with astrange atmosphere in summer, especially today when we were in the clouds. The architecture is meant to reflect the rugged nature of the alpine landscape. If you squint at the photo you can kind of see what they were trying to do.

Then a thrilling descent to Morzine. I managed to touch over 40 mph on some sections but I don’t understand how they get up to 55 mph in the Tour de France. 

And 500 meters from home I got a puncture . What a relief that I didnt get it coming down the mountain. That would have been interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.