Danby Rigg Walk this morning

The first time I've done this walk since Ann died.  I remember doing it on a very dull day in August (nothing like as cheery as today) and looking down on the church and thinking that is where Ann will be buried.

It felt good this morning to be setting off across the field and heading down the lane to the start of the Danby Rigg path.  I was fairly slow this morning but I knew I could complete it (and I've had a few days when Ive given up around home recently).  The worst part is the descent, which is steep and covered in limestone stones which was an attempt to stop the motor-bikes from making trenches.  It was the first time recently that I've felt very insecure about my ankle.  Fortunately I was carrying my stick, which helped.  

Home toe some breakfast and then out again to Staithes where I wanted to try out some in-camera multiple exposures based on the white painted buildings.  I have to say that I find the phone and Pics-titch a lot more fun than the camera at the moment.

I parked on the Cowbar side in the free carpark (I didn't have any money with me, so it was lucky that there were spaces up there.). The long slow, steep climb back up to the carpark inevitably left me thinking about Ann and how she must have felt.  We'd been on the whale/ dolphin watching trip out of Staithes and were already tired by the rime we got off the boat.  If she'd have said something I cold have gone for the car and driven it down.  A couple of the other women had made that kind of arrangement.  But that was Ann, she rarely asked for that support - she must have been feeling really bad.

In extra: white cottages in Staithes

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.