IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Pretty in pink

Work is boring, so you'll rarely here me talking about it. Instead, I'll mention that we have had a pair of mallard ducks hanging around our pond this past week. They come every year. Last year, they brought their chicks with them, but were chased off by our two cats. We found an egg in the tall grass and wonder if they actually had their nest in our garden. Is that possible? (Hey, I'm a city guy living in the country). Apart from being pretty to watch, as they swim about in our pond, they do some good also. I was going to tackle the growing algae problem, but they seem to have eaten most of it overnight. Trouble is, I think they have also eaten most of our tadpoles. Do they do that?

Also saw a crow fighting off a bird of prey over my house this morning, and then later, another bird of prey chasing a very small bird (he got away). Don't ask me what the bird was ... I don't know! It was impressive though.

Anyway, before I head back to the gym classes tonight, can anyone help me identify this plant in my garden? It is a large shrub and has just come into bloom. I've sent off a photo to the RHS, but I know there are a lot of plant enthusiasts on Blip ... over to you. What is it? (It's not a rose).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.