Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Perfect weather

I woke up so ridiculously early this morning, at about 4am, and could not get back to sleep. I think my mind was whirring about my packing, of clothes and camera equipment.

After breakfast Gavin and I walked Xena, it was a perfect day, sunny, with a slight breeze and not too hot. We had to go in to the village to get something from Click and Collect at Waitrose, so we decided to have lunch at the vegan café - its my favourite place to eat, the food is utterly delicious. I had a lentil chilli with guacamole and cashew sour cream, while Gavin had a burrata with spiced sweet potato, lentils and smashed avo. 

When we got home I started packing. First my camera bag, deciding what lenses to take, which bag to use and how to fit them into the bag - and I finally decided on two camera bodies with two long lenses for the wildlife and a wider angle lens for the landscapes. It's heavy! Then I laid all my clothes I wanted to take out on the floor so I could see what I had - mainly technical clothing for Alaska as we will be out every day doing some outdoor activity and the weather will probably be cool and rainy. Hiking shoes for the day and heels for the evening dinners! Summer clothes for Vancouver where it will be warmer. I also have to take birthday presents for Adam's birthday which is two days before mine, so it is going to be a very full suitcase. I hate packing, trying to decide what I will be wearing in the future is agonising for me, especially when you are not quite sure what the weather will be like! Job done, so maybe I will sleep better tonight.

Gavin's hamstring is still not healed and he is facing the possibility that he may not be able to run the marathon in 7 weeks time. His training was going so well, it's the first time in all the marathons he has run that he has been impeded by an injury.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.