A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

All the fun of the fair!

Cooler this morning but sunny and it soon warmed up.
The girls set off on the bikes with mummy and daddy to Victoria Park where there was a Vintage Steam Fair. They went exactly a year ago as I remember it was the first time Jude rode on the back of the bike with her own helmet.

Chris and I went by car and met them there arriving just before the fair opened. 
I was hugely impressed by the standard of the stalls, rides and caravans all beautifully maintained and painted, some were run by steam engines. The carousel, which Eda went on twice, was and even had a steam run musical organ.

Grace was determined to get us in the swing boats, one of my favourite rides when I was a child.  Chris complained I wasn’t pulling enough, I wasn’t pulling at all I was terrified!
As a teenager, I liked the waltzer but there wasn’t a true waltzer there.

We all had a great time, super music playing and no queueing.

Jude wasn’t sure about it all she either cried because she didn’t like it and wanted to get off or because she did like it and didn’t want to get off! She liked the little train - extra - and the boats. She’s into boats at the moment as they went out on the family boat, Nanty, whilst in Scotland.
( Eda had her face painted by Grace this morning before we went out - she has a black cat mask if you are wondering)

This will be the last time it is in Bath as it is the fair’s last tour. They are looking for a permanent place and to sell up for 2.5 million! As I said the paintwork and signage was beautiful, they were offering 5 day sign writing courses, and the owner is going to concentrate on his sign writing.

Maybe not such a bad thing it won’t be here again,  you had to buy tokens for everything and I imagine John spent a good deal on them,  but a good time time was definitely had by all and a big thank you to G & J for taking us back to our childhood, I think!

As we were quite near Chris and I went back to yesterday’s cheese shop and I bought the variegated Sedum I admired.

Whilst Jude napped we all spent time in the garden. It has suffered quite a lot in the two weeks they have been away because of the hot weather. 
We did a lot of tidying up and weeding, even Eda joined in, at least they didn’t have to cut the grass as it’s all brown and dry.

We’ve been in charge of supper, bed and bath tonight. All has gone remarkable well! Eda wanted Boppa to read her bedtime stories, quite a novelty for her I think. The anniversary couple have gone out to eat, on their bikes. Payback for our fun morning treat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.