Fratton Park

I mentioned before that I had bought tickets for Rory and me to go to Fratton Park today to see Pompey, hopefully continuing their good start to the season. I hadn't been since my schooldays, and I was really looking forward to it. We nearly didn't make it on time. If I was a conspiracist I might believe that they deliberately close roads when there is a train strike, just to pile on the agony. It should have taken just over a hour to get there, but it took over three. They had a good attendance, 18,800, but that many people mainly travelling by car didn't help. Somehow I managed to park on the road reasonably close to the ground, otherwise we would have missed the kick off. The return journey was OK, somehow all the roads were open again.

I think Rory enjoyed his first football match, and his first exposure to the Pompey Chimes. Pompey were not, in my view, as slick as in the previous few games, but they still came out on top, 3-1.

One year ago:
A Very Clean Spider

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.