Travel troubles

My cousin and her family is in town, so we arranged to meet for tea/dinner. However, the train strike threw a spanner in the works. Mr Pandammonium and I discussed the possible alternatives.

The conclusion was that we’d get the park and ride because it was the only way we could reasonably get to Cambridge. Getting back would be trickier because the buses stop earlier than is convenient. We left our future selves to worry about that conundrum.

In Cambridge, we looked at all the vaguely useful timetables we could see at the bus station, and took photos for future reference. We’d already tried the bus company’s website and app and found them as utterly unuseful as each other.

As it was, we wangled a lift back: my cousin et al drove in from where they’re staying because of the earliness of the return buses to where they’re staying.

If I could go back in time, I would go back to the moment when I was directing them back to the main road from the park-and-ride car park. I’d remember about the limited turning possibilities at the junction with the main road I told them to go use and tell them to go out the way they came in.

Because I can’t go back in time, I’ve had to make do with sending an apologetic text. I haven’t had a reply, so we can only assume they’ve been captured by some terrible fenland monster for tomorrow’s breakfast.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.