Windsor Castle

Monday
I visited Windsor Castle today - the first time in a very long time!  The small ladies group from church that I meet with on Mondays are having ‘socials’ through the summer, taking turns to host. P from the group is a volunteer steward at St George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle - the parish of the Queen, hosting many Royal events including some high-profile weddings!  She offered to take us on a private tour and got special tickets for us. I took the train and met them all there. We had a amazing tour for a couple of hours. I learned so much and realise how much I DON’T know - still!  We even got into a couple of parts not usually open to the public, so it was a great privilege!  

We ended our tour at 1pm and all said goodbye, but as my ticket allowed me to stay all day and visit all the other parts of the castle, I decided to stay. I wouldn’t normally do this kind of thing on a hot day in August during school holidays, but I couldn’t turn down the option - especially since there was one special thing on display - the Queen’s Coronation gown and robe. It’s on view for a short time only (until 26th of September) as part of the Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

So after being fortified with a Cream Tea (in lieu of lunch!) I fought the crowds through the State Apartments (not my thing, really) but very much enjoyed seeing such a beautiful gown. The embroidery was intricate, beautiful and symbolic, and it was interesting to learn how involved the young Queen was in its design, and which symbols she wanted displayed, representing the countries of the commonwealth.

There is a very strict no photographs indoors policy at the castle (heartbreaking!!) so my only contributions are outdoor shots. St. George’s Chapel is top right of course. Bottom left is Queen Victoria’s statue outside the castle grounds. The Upper Ward with the private apartments and visitor's apartments is on the bottom right.  The soldier is guarding at the Lower Ward.

For another view of the Queen’s Coronation robe, see first Extra photo. If you see my journal you’ll know I’m a great lover of the pillar box (mailbox) yarn bombing that has been so popular in recent years, with many fine examples during the Jubilee celebrations. (See my blips here, here, and here). I’m so glad I came across this one right in the castle grounds, outside one of the gift shops. The attention to detail is amazing!  Look at the corgis!  And the lion heads at the four corners of the throne.

I was just about to leave the castle at 5pm when I realised they were letting people into the Chapel for one of their normal services, so I stayed. It was a short ‘Evening Prayers’ service. One day I’d like to go back for Evensong!

One more Extra photo shows some of the views just around the castle - some popular places to eat and drink, the ‘wonky house (up for sale!!), colourful floral displays, and the beautiful arcade by the station.

I was hot and exhausted by the time I got home mid evening - I was on my feet the entire day except for my time at the cafe and during the 30-minute service at St George’s chapel. But it was a fantastic day. If you’re in the area and want to see the Coronation gown, don’t delay too long - it’s only on view for another month or so!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.