Sunflower!

Sunday
I’m beginning to sound like a broken record - but it was another hot day and I went on another early morning walk!

I decided to do this one because I had heard that there were sunflowers in this field. It’s one of my regular walks anyway but I hadn’t been for awhile. They were so beautiful but also very hard to photograph. The sun was intense, even at 8 in the morning. And my shadow kept getting in the way, even with zooming. See the Extra photo for a few more views.

You can see from the top right picture in the extra, that the sunflowers (and some other varieties) have been planted just on the margin of the field. These are planted as a ‘catch-crop’ - they’ll add nutrients to the soil and are good for wildlife, especially the bees. UK farmers are given grants under the Countryside Stewardship scheme to benefit the environment in various ways. And there I thought it was just for our enjoyment! Well - rural life and agricultural land DO bring joy! I’m grateful that I can enjoy so much so close to home!

Main picture - I didn’t notice the flying insect (and it’s shadow) until after I got home and looked at the photos! Is it a wasp? Or just another type of bee?

I blipped another nearby field almost 3 years ago - also planted with sunflowers as a ‘catch-crop’. See it here. And the explanation here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.