Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Rainy Monday makes my hair stand up

Or, in the case of the downy woodpecker, it makes his feathers stand up!

It's cold and rainy today which makes it a good office day. However, I did get out briefly this morning (all bundled up) and got off a few shots of the birds, as well as Seymour cadging an acorn. As I looked over my meager selection today, I kept coming back to this shot because it made me giggle.

When the downy came in for landing near the suet, there was already another downy on the feeder (not his mate) and you could just see how upset that made him - all his little feathers on his head stood straight up. I took this from a distance of about 10 feet and then cropped the hell out of it. Could be a tad crisper on focus, but I was hand-holding and getting pretty cold at this point.

This morning at the feeders: goldfinches, pine siskins, purple finches, house finches, chickadees, nuthatches, titmice, cardinals, mourning doves, downy wp's, hairy wp's, red-bellied wp's and a bunch of blue jays. Still no signs of hummers or house wrens. I checked back on my journal from last year and I had my first hummer sighting on May 4, so it may be a bit early yet. It's a little odd that I haven't seen any house wrens, though, as they arrived in mid-April last year. Maybe the cooler weather has slowed them up. Still can't tell what is going on with the chickadee nest - I am wondering now if it is a young pair who just doesn't have the hang of it yet.

Hope you aren't having a hair-raising Monday!

xxoo
Debbi

NEWSFLASH!!! At 4 PM this afternoon, I looked out and saw a male ruby-throated hummingbird at my feeder!!! They're back and I am thrilled!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.