Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Long road...

Five years ago today, on April 30, 2008, I spent six hours having a tumor surgically removed from my brain. So, today is kind of a special sort of anniversary for me - weird as that probably sounds. I had no idea 5 years ago how much my life was going to change - all I was trying to do was get through a very scary day. Turns out that once they hook you up to the happy juice, the day goes pretty quickly! Waking up sucked though - seems that the brain doesn't care much to be disturbed, even by the most skilled of surgeons. But I digress.

I decided to join the Audubon folks for their walk today - it was in a place I haven't been before, about 20 miles from here. And what a great time I had! The trails were up and down wooded hills, along a stream part of the way. Lots of birds and beautiful spring wildflowers, and three different kinds of salamanders (which I loved!) And some pollinators, too - always fun. I even got a reasonably good ant shot. All contenders are on Flickr starting here if you'd care to have a peek. Included are shots of the Dusky and Four-toed salamanders - the Dusky was photographed in someone's hand and he was NONE too pleased.

So why the stairs today? It just appealed to me and seemed like a bit of a metaphor for my life. The stairs have loads of history and there is beautiful blue sky at the top - that seems kind of like life, doesn't it?

By the way, if you've never seen what a brain tumor looks like (on an MRI, not in the flesh - euw) and would like to have a peek, take a look at my blip from April 30 of last year. And I hope that this is the only one you ever have to see!

Thanks for the comments, hearts and stars on my startled woodpecker yesterday, and for your enthusiasm about my first hummer sighting of the season. I was gone most of today, but haven't seen any sign of a hummer today, so it is quite possible that yesterday's visitor was just passing through on his way further north. Maybe it was Mr. Sharpie, headed to Just Be...

Happy Tuesday.

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.