Living my dream

By Mima

Here we go!

The first big seed sowing session took place today. It marks the real start of spring for me, even though meteorological spring is still 10 days away.

Everything I sowed today is in trays, to give them an early and protected start.

The beetroots will germinate in the tunnel house, under frost fleece. All the remaining seeds are on the extremely useful huge shelf over the cab of the converted truck. (It is here that I dry crops in autumn.)

I have a small heat mat which I use to provide extra warmth below first the capsicum pepper seeds and then the tomatoes. The other seed trays are placed on polystyrene sheets for extra insulation. And once I’d taken the Blip I draped a large sheet of polythene over it all.

You may be able to see some small shoots already showing: those are peas and sugarsnap peas which I sowed 9 days ago.

What did I sow today?
8 varieties of tomatoes
3 varieties of capsicum peppers
Brown onions
Red onions
Leeks
Celery
Beetroot
Sunflowers
Sweetpeas

Oh happy day!

Bean slept throughout…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.