Living my dream

By Mima

Red-billed gulls

These gulls are considered a pest by some Oamaruvians because they gather and poop on top of buildings in the town, and on boats in the harbour. As a result a whole lot of netting is on display all over the place. And there are a few plastic raptors swinging about like kites, tethered to various roofs along the main drag.

Here at the Cape Wanbrow car park, they are attracted by the occupants of this car who are eating an unmentionable fast food lunch, and chucking fragments of fries and bun out of their windows from time to time. I guarantee their gratitude will demonstrate itself in the form of guano on the roof.

Bean and I had a wonderful wind-blown walk round the Cape, to work off the fish and chips followed by sticky date pudding which I’d enjoyed in one of the town eateries, in the enjoyable company of the Macdubs.

I had a day off from the garden, entirely as a result of it being -4C when I got up. That degree of frost takes a while to lift Chez Mima because I’m in a wee bit of a dip in the landscape. So I collected milk from the cooshed and pasteurised it while listening to podcasts. I might make Camemberts tomorrow…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.