Living my dream

By Mima

Sheila Dough-matua

The day has been divided between a major instalment in the year’s seed-sowing, and attending a funeral online.

Tomatoes, capsicums, onions, leeks, celery, beetroot and sunflowers are in trays in the seed-raising area in the truck this evening.

The funeral was for the father of my FFL (friend for life) who died aged 86 last week after an incredible life. It was being held near Christchurch (4 hours’ drive away) and I had intended to be there, but FFL persuaded me to stay home, save fuel, save time, sow seeds and watch the live stream. 

It was a Catholic service: my first. The different hymns, prayers and even bible-readings were interesting, but the most wonderful part of the service was a trio of eulogies at the end, the main one by FFL. It was beautiful. As usual I learnt heaps of stuff I never knew about the person who had died. I hope he knew how well-loved and admired he was.

I have just fed Sheila with organic stoneground flour and warm whey. She will double in size overnight and I’ll mix and prove a sourdough loaf or two in the morning.

Incidentally behind Sheila you can see a picture of St Beryl and St Betty, the patron saints of best friends. I am inordinately fond of the image.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.