Revisiting

We spent a very pleasant day with L, largely revisiting old haunts. After scrambled eggs for lunch, we headed out for a wander around Leith, ending up at a cafe on Constitution Street for an outdoor coffee [my third of the day....maybe not such a good idea....see later....]

Home via Quality Yard, where there was a lot of new stuff compared to our visit last weekend with P and H, thus supplying my blip.

Soon enough, we walked down to The Shore again, for a very late lunch at The Ship on the Shore, with L and I sharing an excellent seafood platter, and finishing our lunch with an espresso martini (see what I did there? another coffee...) and a twix cheesecake to share. After that, it was back up to The Arches on Leith Walk to go to 1902, for a second time in Mr A's case. A pretty effective piece of theatre, although it is certainly very shouty....

Our final stop of the day was back down at The Vaults, which L had not previously visited, for some cheese and a dram. See what I did again? Cheese in the evening, on top of four coffees.

The results were predictable for me. While both L and Mr A seemed to get to sleep very swiftly, I sat around reading my book (The Glass Hotel) to a conclusion, and then after I went to bed really struggled both to sleep and to stay asleep for more than a nanosecond at a time. Part of the reason, along with a surfeit of caffeine and a bit of cheese was, however, getting up very early. More on that anon.

But it was a lovely day, made even nicer by being extremely pleasant weather (especially when the sun shone, which it did most of the time).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.