Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Still a bit of a dream

Back on 30th July 1975, I bought my 1st car with my own money, the first one in 1972 had been bought for me by my father. Even back then, a Saab was not a very common car, the old Model 96 I had being thought of as being an ugly tank. I got to love it and generally it did good & safe service including a pretty good accident on London's huge Cromwell Rd/Earls Court Road junction. The Mini I rammed came out much the worst, the driver fleeing to Mexico to avoid prosecution.

When the new Saab 900 series came out in 1978, I always wanted one & especially when the Cabriolet version appeared in 1986. I think the version, seen today at the local lakes when out for the evening walk with Luna, is from around 1988-1992. Can be sure it was 1992 or earlier as it has an "H" numberplate -  the last letter of the number is an H which denotes it is registered as an 'Oldtimer', at least 30 years old and in original condition. This gives one certain privileges for insurance, taxation & technical condition.

I do remember sometime in 1995-2001 seeing one on the motorway with registration A-ML XXXX (don't remember the numbers). Big lump in my throat.

Would love to have had this car for the week's tour I did with my 1973-6 girlfriend a few weeks ago. It was she & her Mum who got me to buy a Saab back in 1975. There is an enormous price range for used ones now, ranging from around €60,000 to €3,000. Think I'm too old to take on the uncertainty of a cheap version, which is all I could afford!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.