Living my dream

By Mima

Brocken Spectre

This is breaking the rules of Blip, but this photo sent to me by my FFL (friend for life) far surpasses anything I’ve taken today.

It was taken on the Port Hills, Christchurch and is a fabulous example of a Brocken Spectre.

More about this extraordinary phenomenon here: https://www.britannica.com/science/Brocken-specter They are said to be rare, but according to my FFL they aren’t unusual on Banks Peninsula.

Meanwhile in the less spooky environs of Chez Mima I’ve been progressing work on the fruit cage. Digging out invasive raspberry runners turned into a huge task because they had spread in all directions from the two rows of canes. However, it’s done at last and I put compost onto the raspberries today.

Tomorrow I’ll compost the currant and gooseberry bushes. Then finally I’ll be able to measure, cut and lay the new weedmat. See the extra for today’s work.

Bean spent most of the afternoon trying to persuade me it was time for her dinner. The wiggly body and pleading eyes didn’t work their usual magic, much to her disappointment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.