Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

Der frühe Vogel fängt den Wurm

The early bird catches the worm - definitely not one of my mission statements.

So I got up really early in the morning to leave VV's flat at 4:00 for the bus station. I decided to go there by bike, so I could sleep 15 minutes longer - always a good choice! I barely caught the bus (so I was perfectly on time) to arrive at the airport just 30 minutes before departure (again perfect timing). I have to say, I went by Ryanair, an Irish no-frills airline. Although incomparabely cheap, the thing with those guys is, that when your ticket says Stockholm - Munich, they actually mean: some 100 kilometres south of Stockholm to some 150 kilometres west of Munich. So the bus rides from the cities to the airports and vice versa actually took longer (and were also more expensive!) than the actual flights. But hey: still dirt cheap!

Long story short: arrived in the city center of Munich at 11 o'clock - just in time to head into the office for a few hours. Completely beat now, heading to bed, work tomorrow.

Aja, the image: I took that right after I alit from the bus. It's Munich Central Station during a very quiet time before noon. The train to the right is an ICE high-speed train, although a rather strange one. It obviously has to have a Diesel locomotive as it does not have any pantographs and I always thought all ICE trains were electric - and had a distinctively different shape.

Any train people around who can help me out here? As far as I see it, the closest car is not a locomotive but a control car, isn't it?

And sorry for the not so surreptitious advertising in the background - it's just ubiquitous.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.