Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

Boom Boom

It was two great birding events at once as I took this photo.

Today started cold, damp and thoughts turned to somewhere sunny and a bit warmer - Yorkshire !

As we drove over the Pennines it was soon clear it was a good decision it got brighter and clearer by the mile. Just less than 50 minutes and a round and round a few roundabouts and we were there RSPB Old Moor

I asked after fellow Blipper mynictle but she was off doing her other job. Lunch at Gannets was preceded by quick stroll to the Bittern Hide. I have walked this direction before and it reminded me of the old joke about a shop called The 59 minute cleaners - it doesn't mean you get your coat cleaned in under an hour, it's just the name of the shop.

I always thought that this was the case with the Bittern Hide it was just the name of the hide !

But today just as I lined up this shot of Mrs Kestrel on her doorstep looking out for Mr Kestrel to bring home some lunch there it was BOOM BOOM and again BOOM.

A booming Bittern - of course we didn't actually see it but its there and unless it really was throwing its voice there may have been two.

We shared our Bittern with a couple from Rotherham who had only popped in to buy some bird seed from the shop and have a short walk - they were just as thrilled as us.

As I write this one thing has just struck me I have an app on my phone that would have recorded it - why did I not think of that at the time. It would be a great ringtone on the phone - boom boom for every tweet perhaps.

A great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.