Making Progress..

Today was a day of action..necessary because after resting yesterday, seeing my BP rise to "Call 911" levels again and not making that call or heading to the ER, I needed to smarten up. Thanks to my daughter's reprimand this morning and her urging me to act, action was my mission for the day. I needed that kick in the butt to make things happen. As my daughter so forceful reminded me... In this time of broken health care systems, you have to be your own advocate...

Frustrated at not receiving that call from the hospital's internal medicine clinic as I had been promised, and tired of waiting, I got on the phone and called them, but apparently the referral from Sunday had not yet reached them? It had to go all the way from the ER to the next floor in the hospital? three days? by computer? They called back a half hour later. Miraculously they had found the referral and were giving me a phone appointment for late in September!  So, what do I do until then? 

Meanwhile I had called my cardiologist and was given an appointment for two weeks from now.. After that, I called my family doctor...he could see me at 5:00!  5:00 worked perfectly! I saw my doctor face-to-face instead of by phone which is now almost the norm ... he doubled my med dosage, gave me a prescription and an appointment for next Friday to check my BP readings for the week. So now the search for the right dosage can begin...At those two other appointments, I will see what they can offer in follow-up..by then I hope my BP is stabilized!

I celebrated on my way home by stopping off at the marsh for a peaceful walk along the beach..a time to think and and get my head and priorities in order...and also to just soak up that beautiful scenery. (extra) It was a quiet time - most folks would be home making dinner, so I had a chance to be by myself for most of the time....which is just what I needed...

Having "taken charge" of my situation today has meant that I now have September pretty much filled with medical appointments! Drat! Chances that I will get back up north to the cottage at all before the end of the season are now pretty slim...  really discouraging, but I will try to focus on what is more important .. 

Meanwhile, it is "chin up and be assertive"...

and thank you for all the well wishes and encouraging comments. It is SO appreciated..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.