Frog

What have I to report this morning?
Well, yesterday i was trying to set up the two trail cameras to record whatever mysterious stuff was in the back garden.
A couple of hours of reading instructions which were non existent, and ending up on You Tube with people who were trying to impart their information on my trail cameras, and they were even more clueless than I was.
I got two different ones, both were supposed to have 2.4 inch screens for viewing. I don't have a laptop or anything to put an SD card in for better viewing. Unfortunately one of the trail cameras only had a minute screen. But I thought I would try it.
Finally set them both up last night.
One on the swing.
One on the end of the garden.
I put the small one by the swing thinking there wouldn't be much activity on there, just Midnight sleeping. The bigger screen one I put at the end of the garden.
Midnight was in a very good mood this morning. He was very affectionate and loving.
I get back in bed with a cuppa, and the trail cameras. I open the big one first. So disappointed. Nothing recorded for nighttime, just me setting up the trail cameras and going back and forth, before darkness fell.
Abject failure.
I open the second one with the minute viewing screen.
WHAT!!!!!
178 photos.
The first 20 were of me putting it up.
The other 158 were of nighttime activity.
And that started at 20:29 (I had gone to bed early so they were set up early).
They began with Midnight getting on and off the swing.
Not sure but I think he was hunting mice.
Then at 23.49 something very low to the ground came through it wasn't a ginger cat, legs were too short. Maybe it was a polecat. But it was such a tiny screen.
Then at 00:04 a fox comes through. Why do they look at the trail camera? They seem to know it is there!
Then a badger comes in, and leaves.
Then a fox again.
Then a badger again, same or different one I don't know.
Then a fox.
Then the badger comes in and the trail camera captures him/her for the next hour on and off.
And so this all goes on alternately (with the addition of a smaller low to the ground animal) until 04;10 am.

Guess where Midnight is? He is sitting on the swing watching them. He is watching the fox and badger walking in front of him, just literally a few inches away. There is no food left out. I do not leave food out overnight.

They are all coming in from the front garden, up the side of my bungalow, must have eaten a way through that wooden gate which is there which is covered in bushes and trees and brambles (a human would not be able to get through). And they are going back out the same way.

Are they paying homage to Midnight?

I awoke at 03:10 this morning to see Jade on my garage roof, her eyes boring into mine. I said no food yet, you will have to wait. Little did I know the trail camera recorded the badger walking past Midnight just at that time. So, Jade was avoiding the badger...

Both trail cameras will be on my swing supports tonight.

Nothing seemed to be going up the garden, which is why the bigger screen trail camera didn't get triggered off.

So, today I will be checking the settings on both, making sure the bigger screen one has the same settings.

Creative is a photo this morning of one of my frogs. He needs his little pond filling with water...
As far as I could tell the badger/s were not after the frogs last night, but further investigation may show....

Time for a cuppa...

I might put the cameras on those sparrows on the feeders this morning.....

Have your best day.

I need to figure out how to use my dehydrator today...those apples need picking off the apple tree before they fall in the frog pond....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.