Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gardening for Wildlife

When I first started adding gardens to our property, my intention was to provide pollinator plants.  Which was, of course, a good and noble start.  As time went on, however, and I continued to learn more and more about native plants and gardens, I broadened my scope.  My goal now is to provide pollinator plants, host plants for larva, dead plants for insects and spider to overwinter in, and plants like zinnias that feed birds.  For that reason alone, I leave my gardens messy in the fall.  Plenty of time to make things pretty in the spring.

I have been watching the American Goldfinches in my gardens for the last month.  They've been dining on coneflower seeds, rudbeckia seeds and now zinnia seeds.  When this male still in breeding plumage dropped into the zinnia patch right in front of me, I was ready.  I got a handful of keeper shots, but this one was my pick.  If you look close you can see the seeds in his beak.

I released 4 monarchs today.  More on the way.  

Hubs and I went to pick up his Mercedes (about 45 min away) so Jax came along for the ride.  He's an excellent car dog and he loves riding.  We stopped at the vet on the way home so he came in with me.  Quick weight check (just under 62 pounds) and picked up tick/flea/heartworm preventatives.

Planning to take the prospective buyer for the RV out for a test drive tonight.  If all goes well, we will do the deal and collect the funds at the bank tomorrow.  

Dark with peanut butter today.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.