Stubai Glacier - Top of Tyrol

Today I explored with H0tamer the Stubai glacier at the end of the valley.
The cable cars took us to an altitude of over 3000 meters.
There is a platform called Top of Tyrol with an more than impressive view over more than 100 three-thousanders. 
Have a look at H0tamers blip to get an idea. He climbed even higher on the "Schaufelspitze". His view was even more WOW!
My knee told me I shouldn't try to climb with H0tamer, so I stayed at the ridge and had fun with building a Stoamandl (cairn) and a fabulous view (see first extra). In the extra you can also see the remains of the glacier. The white foil is to protect the glacier to melt, especially at the posts of the ski lifts. You get an idea how much ice melt every summer.
In the second extra you can see how much of the glacier has disappeared during the last 50 years. The sign near H0tamer shows the top of it. And you can guess the former glacier at the other side of the valley, too. It is such a sad view.
We also visited the Ice Cave in the glacier. It was impressive, too.
Here is a link for a short video.
And why is my main blip a simple flower?
It isn't simple at all . It is an alpine mouse-ear. I spotted this little patch of flowers at a height of over 3000 meters. It is a rare plant and it was the only plant I saw in that area. I was even more astonished that I coincidentally blipped a fly visiting it. How amazing is this.
It was an wonderful, impressive and frustrating (retreat of the glaciers) day!
Edit: Thanks to Munni the plant is identified as a Cerastium uniflorum Clairv.. It is not a rare plant, but I'm still amazed that it can grow in such a rough height. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.