antipodean

By antipodean

Interview

Some street photography today! Taken in Fitzroy, one of my favourite suburbs, off one of the most quirky, trendy streets in Melbourne.

I was in the area for a job interview at a vegetarian restaurant. The interview went quite well, not amazingly but not terribly, and the woman who spoke to me said she'd call if something came up in the next few weeks, but I'm not necessarily holding my breath. I'm glad I had the interview though, it's been a while since I've had to impress a potential employer and it was good practice!

More interesting than the interview were the other applicants I was chatting to before the interview. There was a girl from California, a girl from Lorne (in country Victoria) and a guy from Tennessee and we chatted about travelling, being a vegetarian, philosophy and sociology and how bloody hard it is to find a job right now.

I came home and had a bit of a woe is me moment because I'm unemployed and I'm nearly through a degree that I feel is a bit useless and I'd really like to do something creative with my life but I feel a bit limited. The only limit to my creativity is myself so I kind of just need to get over myself and get on with it, but it's hard at the moment because I have literally nothing to do and it's making me mopey. Dad gave me a bit of a pep talk and showed me some old photos and I felt better - he's got a career ahead of him as a motivational speaker if he wants it!

I got lucky with this shot, because when I went in for my interview there were a few cars parked in front of this building blocking the view, but when I came out the cars were gone and this scooter was perfectly placed in the middle. I like this one because it's very Fitzroy - there are a lot of buildings like this around, full of character and personality!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.