Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Suffragette

For the start of a bank holiday weekend in the north-east I headed up to Morpeth.

Morpeth is (now) proud of its association with Emily Wilding Davison who was killed attempting to attach suffragette colours to the King's horse, Anmer, during the 1913 Epsom Derby. This statue sits prominently at the entrance to Carlisle Park.

I enjoyed exploring the town which I don't think I properly visited in the twelve years that I lived in this part of the world. It seems a thriving and well-heeled place.

And of course there was football: Morpeth Town v Hyde United in the Northern Premier League. Tucked away in the woods at the edge of town, Craig Park is a relatively new ground and has been modernised with a 3G pitch. Morpeth secured a comfortable 3-0 win.

Finally it was back on the train to Newcastle which is where I'm staying for the rest of the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.