Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Muscovy

I took myself on an excursion to Barnsley, specifically Worsbrough, where I explored Worsbrough Mill (extra) and the adjacent reservoir and country park. It is a working mill but was not running today, you could walk through all the rooms though. There was a nice tea room and good walks, so worth a visit.

These Muscovy Ducks were at the edge of the reservoir and as I don’t often see them I thought I would share. Although Muscovys like these breed in the wild in Britain they are not yet considered a self-sustaining population, so are not on the British list of birds.

All of this was next door to the home ground of Worsbrough Bridge Athletic FC (extra) who were hosting Lancastrians Ramsbottom United in an FA Vase fixture. The higher ranked visitors eased to a three - nil win. 

I had a little potter about Barnsley Town Centre while I waited for my train back, and stumbled across a fine Barry Hines memorial, immortalising his creation, Kes (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.