Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Pier

Working my way across to Wales for the rest of the week, I detoured via Southport to take in some football.

I had a bit of a wander round - any previous visits have been fleeting. It was bigger than I expected and the divide between town and sea make it quite distinctive. It's always nice to see an intact pier, although it isn't currently open. The tall attractions of Blackpool were clearly visible up the coast.

At the football Southport were hosting Chorley in a National League North fixture, and it was the visitors that eased to a 2-0 victory in front of around 1700 supporters. Unfortunately Nephew #3 was on the bench for this game, but I will catch him somewhere else.

Now onward to Wales - I am blipping in transit having just left Chester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.