Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Moor

The second day of my Newcastle trip saw me revisiting some old haunts. My guesthouse is round the corner from where I lived in Fenham during my first five years in the city, so I had a chance to walk by my old front doors.

It was a surprise to see the see the General Hospital had been demolished - I had cause to visit the A & I there on more than one occasion.

I headed out onto the Town Moor for views over the city (main image) - this used to be my local green space, especially for Sunday walks. Then down through Exhibition Park to the Hancock Museum and a coffee.

The day's football was at Kingston Park, a rugby ground but home of Newcastle United Women for this season. It was a comfortable 2-0 win for them over Stockport County in front of around 1500 fans.

Then I just made it down to the Quayside for a flying visit to the Baltic before it closed at 6. All three of the current shows were worth a visit.

Finally a wander round town before taking in a film at the Tyneside Cinema - the bewildering Everything Everywhere All At Once. A little like my day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.