Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Arrow-shaped Micrathena

One of my favorite spiders and not one I find all that often.  They are very small (females 8-9 mm and males 4-5 mm) and I often just don't see them. Usually they are presented belly-up like this one (the back is bright yellow and much easier to spot).  If you look closely (in Large) at the abdomen of this female, you will see a dark round spot which is her spinneret, where the silk comes from.  She's an orb weaver so spins a round complex web, usually in flowers beds or other places where small insects might be found.  

Meanwhile, the babies I put in Extra yesterday molted, leaving remnants of their old clothes nearby.  They are definitely stink bugs, and I'm betting Marmorated (an invasive species, alas).  Picture in Extra which you'll enjoy if you saw yesterday's.

Had a nice long FT chat with my parents this morning and then bestie Ellen picked me up and we went for lunch at a lakeside restaurant in the area.  Reminding me that I want to get the kayak out on this lake before the summer totally gets away from me.  We had a great time catching up and talking about her upcoming walking tour in Spain and France.  Also talked about a trip I am contemplating - Brazil/Pantanal for photography.  

Jax has had a quiet day including a couple of hours in the crate while Hubs and I were both gone. He does fine in his crate now, although he prefers to do his napping on the sofa.  His playdate at daycare for this week has been cancelled due to a case of bordatella.  Big bummer but as soon as they've done the proper remediation, we'll get him over for some play.  

Dark with almonds today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.