Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Gonzo

As in gone.  As in stink bug nymphs.  In their place was in impossibly small spider with an egg casing.  I suspect foul play although it's physically impossible that this spider could have eaten all 13 stink bugs.  More likely he got one and the rest scattered into the soil.  Drama in the flower pot.  I've no idea what kind of spider this is.  In truth, I couldn't even really see it through the macro lens with the raynox150 attached.  I stacked two images to get this one, which is more or less in focus.  

In other garden news, I gathered up a half dozen big fat monarch cats from the garden and put them in their own container.  I did so fully knowing that it is likely that one or more have been parasitized.  But at least they will have a safe place to pupate if they are able.  I've released just shy of 60 so far with probably another 30-40 to go.  Three butterflies were released today - one for a loved SIL and the other two for the anonymous casualties of the war in Ukraine.  I still have about a half dozen names on my dedication list and the rest will just go in memory of nameless people around the world.  Or in the name of someone you may wish to remember. 

I found two butterfly wings (one swallowtail and one monarch) under my huge buddleai (butterfly bush) which can only mean that somewhere in there is a big praying mantis.  I looked and looked but couldn't see her.  But random wings under the bush are suspicious to say the least.   

I had an appointment to have my teeth cleaned and dental X-rays today.  This was a dentist that I used to see over 10 years ago but left due to insurance issues at the time.  It was nice to see him again - I always liked him and his hygienist is as gentle as I remember (although she could talk the balls off a brass monkey!)

Jax has been suspiciously good today so I expect some sort of crazy will break out soon.  

Meanwhile, my parents sent another mouthwatering care package of dark chocolate which I have hidden away.  But not before I had three squares (dark with raspberry).

Don't forget that tomorrow is TinyTuesday - the last one I will be hosting before turning the challenge over to MaryElizaR for September.  This week's tag is #tt379.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.