Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

In Memory

Of Carolyn, a woman I knew mostly through FB but had worked with many years ago.  Her daughter had contacted me last month to say she was in hospital and would I mind sending her some texts with pics of Jax?  Carolyn adored dogs (and her children and grandchildren) and always got a kick out of the silly things Jax did/does, so I was happy to oblige.  I hadn't heard anything from her in the last week and then I saw her daughter's post on FB that Carolyn was gone.  I know it is a huge blow to her family and my heart goes out to them.  

I was going to take the kayak out this morning but I talked myself out of it - the skies look very dark and broody and it's beyond humid out.  Tomorrow morning looks more promising.  Instead, I am going to head over to our neighbor's farm and have tea with Barb this afternoon.  It's been too long since we've had a good catch up.  

And Hubs has convinced me to go to Brazil/Pantanal next year!  The same guide I went to Costa Rica, Texas and Colombia is doing 2 trips to Brazil next summer.  It's one of the best places in the world to photograph jaguars and he got some amazing shots when he was recently there on a scouting trip.  And since the Pantanal has been on my bucket list for a while...why not?  Many fantastic birds in addition to the cats, as well as Giant Anteaters who will likely have babies at that time.  It's a pricey trip but I suspect it will be worth every penny.  If anyone is interested, shoot me an email and I will send the trip PDF to you.  

There are butterflies fluttering all over my garden right now.  Lots of monarchs are starting to move through in the early stages of their migration.  And continuing swallowtails of at least 3 varieties.  I am still searching for the killer Praying Mantis, but no luck yet.  I don't know what I will do when I find her - probably try to catch her in a container and move her someplace a little further away.  Even though out mantids are non-native, I can't bring myself to kill them.  

Next month TinyTuesday will be hosted by MaryElizaR and she has some great themes lined up.  Read details HERE.  Meanwhile, I've already started looking at this week's early entries - and am blown away, as usual.  Results will be here on Thursday.

Dark with almonds today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.