Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

My Other Boy

I was out on the deck with Jax this afternoon and happened to look over and see Charlie looking at us through the deck storm door.  I don't usually like taking photos through an extra set of (non-photographic quality) glass, but I had to take a few shots.  Charlie, like most tabby cats, is very photogenic.  And although I usually like seeing his lovely ginger tones, I decided to go mono with this.  He's been such a wonderful addition to our little family and I can't believe we've had him 8 years now.  Phoebe still isn't crazy about him, but Jax thinks Charlie is his best friend (Charlie would disagree with this).

I am having an excellent day in terms of pain.  The RA symptoms are very mild today and my neck feels great after the injections yesterday.  I have not had RA long enough to really understand what triggers "bad" days or what I need to do to ensure more good ones, but I'll take the win today.  As for my neck, the complete lack of pain today is a result of the nerve block yesterday - it won't last more than a few days but will give the doctor a better idea of how to treat this on a longer term basis.  I'm grateful to have excellent medical insurance.  

I have been making "mocktails" for myself since I can't drink alcohol now and have discovered ginger beer!  How have I gotten to be 67 without knowing about this?  I've been putting a splash of NA Campari in a glass of ginger beer with crushed ice and a garnish of lime - it's very tasty and, when served in a festive glass, quite fancy.  And ginger is good for inflammation, so a win-win.  

I replenished my dark chocolate stash today and broke into the dark with chili.  Also good for inflammation.  

If you're missing your hummingbird fix, see Extra.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.