Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Life shortening

I finally got out for a paddle this morning on a lake I had discovered while hiking last week.  It was all I had hoped it would be - lots of little coves, nooks and crannies, not another person on the lake, a nice selection of birds and dragons.  And, unbeknownst to me... a beaver.

I had allowed my kayak to drift slowly closer to a family of swans and was enjoying photographing them as they fed.  It was so calm and peaceful and full of zen.  Until... BOOM!  A splash that sounded more like a rifle firing.  I whipped my head around (thank goodness I have a beginners kayak that doesn't tip easily) only to see a huge bunch of waves ...and then a little brown head popped up.  And I swear to you, he was laughing.  He used his massive flat tail five more times to warn me that he didn't like where I was drifting before he swam to the opposite side of the lake.  And, not one who must be hit over the head with the tail of a beaver to take the point, I vacated that part of the lake.  

In spite of scaring the wits out of me, the entire experience was actually delightful.  Beavers tend to be nocturnal so although we have plenty of them in our area, I rarely see them.  And I have never heard one slap it's tail like that!  

Another fun experience was watching a young Great Blue Heron fishing in the lily pads.  At one point he came up with a small turtle - after hanging onto it for a minute, he finally dropped it back in the water.  I'm sure the turtle was thrilled by that turn of events, and I suspect the heron won't pluck a turtle again.  

Back at home, Hubs and I were sitting in the kitchen having lunch when a Spotted Lanterfly landed on our window - erk!  These highly invasive insects have been in Pennsylvania since about 2014 and have spread to about 9 other states including New Jersey.  They are eating machines and are a danger to both crops and forests.  I also saw one two days ago, so I am now on high alert.  Some people have found literally hundreds of them on a single tree.  I'll put an image in Extra - taken Saturday.  They are quite pretty and quite large (cicada sized) and have been known to eat 67 different plant species, including hickories and maples which we happen to have an abundance of in our woods.  Contrary to the name, they are in the planthopper family.

Although it was overcast and quite comfortable this morning, the sun has broken through and now its hot and steamy.  So I think I will have a piece of dark chocolate with coconut since it seems sort of tropical...

Stay safe.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.