Redshanks

Today’s walk through the reserve in Conwy is pleasant enough, but there is little that inspires. One lagoon is still bone dry, and where there’s water, most birds are too distant to photograph.  

We continue on our normal circular route which takes us to the estuary for the final long trek back along the river. And this where it changes……

The tide is out, and what water remains in shallow channels is mirror-silver, perfectly still, the blue-green Carneddau reflected in the wet mud flats; despite the grey skies, the light is beautiful. 

Suddenly, the air is full of high pitched cries as a small flock of waders skims across, coming to land in the silvery channel up river from us. At first I think they’re oyster catchers, basing my assumption on their peeping cries and frantic flying - always such a sense of panic - but on closer inspection I find they’re redshanks - please correct me if I’m wrong.

So for my main I’ve chosen a shot of them coming in to land - red legs and feet outstretched - tiny and ethereal, each reflected in the stillness. My extra would have been my main had the quality been better,  wingtips leaving wakes as they skim along the water. And there’s a further extra of the view across the river. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.