Heron in the Heather

It’s the most glorious day - clear blue skies and a beautiful clear light. Of course it’s a Bank Holiday so most places around the coast will be uncomfortably busy, but we manage to get the last space in the tiny car park in Sychnant, and I have the little lake to myself while G goes off on a circular walk. 

I’m hoping to get some decent swallow shots having failed several times already, but there are very few around today, and I wonder whether there has been an early departure this year. But while I’m looking out for specks of black, something grey catches my eye across in the heather. It’s a heron, neck and head just visible above a green and purple haze. 

He’s a long way off, and carefully I make my way towards him , getting a clearer view as he stretches up. Of course, it’s inevitable that all too soon he sees me, lifting his wings and flying off way out of range. It’s only then I realise by shutter speed is set for skimming swallows, and my shots are far more grainy than I’d like, but it’s nice to catch a heron in the heather, and with a no-show from the swallows, he’s my blip today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.