Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Songster

 

Today we return to the familiar ground of RSPB Conwy. The weather’s warm but dreary, rain seemingly never far away, so it seems a sensible option. 

While my walking’s definitely better - I think last week’s rest and additional antibiotic have helped - it’s still my short stroll to the bridge and back, albeit at a slightly faster pace. Though I’m once more disappointed by the dearth of dragons round the pond, I’m pleased to see a common darter and get my first shot if the year as it rests on the boardwalk. 

There’s plenty of birdsong in the reserve today, but it’s still hard to see the songsters. I catch a glimpse of a melodious wren, but it insists on delving deep into the bushes well out of sight. The breathy song of long tails is coming from a nearby tree, but as I walk towards it, I just catch sight of tiny bodies fleeing to a further shelter. 

And then I see my robin - though he’s uncharacteristically shy. Even the mealworms I place in the ground to tempt him closer fail - though I notice when I turn my back he sneaks down to grab a snack before retreating quickly.  He’s clearly happier perched on his lichen-covered branch, from where his melodies soar across the trees. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.