Wild Wednesday ...

... Play Ball!

I had a disappointing morning with some frustrating shopping and sad happenings in our monarch butterfly nursery.  Only one out of five chrysalids in one of the enclosures produced a viable butterfly ... see Extra photo.  And even this one had a slightly crinkled wing and needed time in the sunshine before flying off.  She's in God's hands now ... whether still making her way to Mexico or the other alternative.  But I fear that she wasn't strong enough to get to her destination.  

The day improved greatly when we found out that a player from the Philadelphia Phillies (Bryce Haroer) is rehabbing from an injury with our local farm baseball team the IronPigs!  When I got home from my frustrating shopping Richard asked me if I wanted to go to the game tonight ... me and everyone else in the Lehigh Valley!  Of course, I said yes!  I called the box office even though the game was sold out ... mainly because of Bryce Harper playing tonight.  Luckily we were able to procure tickets and the seats were pretty good ... view from seats is in bottom right photo. 

We had supper at home before heading over to Coca-Cola Park ... which is the stadium for the IronPigs.  It took a while to get into the stadium as the traffic was terrible going in.  But we found a decent enough parking space and headed into the park.  We found our seats but there was plenty of time before the start of the game so we walked around for a little bit.  What we saw the most was Bryce Harper shirts!  Everyone seemed to be wearing one! I guess he's a popular and well liked player.  We aren't huge fans of any of the Pennsylvania sports teams but it was still lots of fun watching him play tonight.  The large lower left picture is of Bryce swinging (and hitting) for the ball.  He got a single and an RBI from that hit.  

We left after the seventh inning for four reasons: 1. Richard has to work tomorrow; 2. The IronPigs were losing; 3. To beat the traffic; and 4. I was late for my insulin injection!  We learned later that Bryce Harper came through in the ninth inning and the Pigs won!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.