Bob20

By Bob20

Tunstead Superquarry

View LARGE.

I was up at 3.30 this morning. The weather forecast was good and I wanted to take some shots of Tunstead Quarry, Buxton. I arrived at 4.15 and set up. Once again, this was one of my first shots.

I was absolutely amazed at the shots when I loaded them up when I arrived home at 9.30 this morning.

This shot is NOT an HDR, it is almost SOTC with a few minor Lightroom adjustments. Personally, I thought it was so different to a usual landscape.

Here is a bit of information about Tunstead by the British Geological Survey:

The principal product from Tunstead Quarry is industrial limestone. This material is over 97% calcium carbonate (CaCO3 ) and is valued for its chemical purity. The limestone is used in a number of industries where its chemical properties as a basic oxide, a flux, a neutralising agent or a source of calcium are important. Glassmaking, sugar refining and reduction of sulphur emissions from coal-fired power stations use raw limestone, but many processes use limestone that has been 'burnt' at high temperature to produce lime (CaO). Tunstead is the biggest producer of lime in the UK. There is also a cement plant at Tunstead which utilises almost all the waste produced during the processing of the limestone.

Thanks for all your comments on the Cat & Fiddle yesterday, I hope to have replied to everyone this evening.

I had a nap this afternoon!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.