TINY TUESDAY - HAIRY SUNFLOWER BRACTS

I know people say you can go out after 5 days, even if you test positive, but I would rather wait - so it was back into our garden today for a TT Blip.

Our sunflowers haven’t been that good this year but Mr. HCB had pointed out this sunflower to me yesterday and I rather liked the back of it.  This particular part is called the “fleshy receptacle”and there are plenty of tiny hairs on it for Tiny Tuesday; these green, hairy bracts are what holds the flower to the stem.

There’s quite a breeze today, so we have been in and out of the garden like yo-yos as it can be quite chilly sitting in the wind.

Thank you for your kind comments, stars and hearts - I really do hope to be back commenting before too much longer.  However, screen work doesn’t help the headaches, which are persisting, and I’m even wearing sunglasses indoors at times and having an afternoon nap most days, although I am feeling better in myself and thankfully, Mr. HCB seems fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.