Late summer hedgerows

There are huge numbers of hips and haws in the hedgerows, changing through orange to red, and although the hedgerows still look green from a distance, many leaves are tinged with brown. We have still had no rain to speak of, so the grass is uniformly yellow-brown. Summer has slipped away without me quite knowing where it went. The sun has been lovely today, but there's a chill in the breeze and although I'm still bare-legged, I've been wearing a cardigan. 

After J's PA left, I dragged her outside for her daily dose of fresh air, and wheeled her down the garden to see the pumpkin patch. It's not up to Hagrid's standards, but the squashes and pumpkins, which J always sows with me, are looking quite promising with another month or more before harvest. We looked over the orchard gate at the valley and downs, until our attention seeking cat blocked the view. His little tuft of a tail is clearly visible in the extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.