Anemone

For most of Tuesday, I thought it was Monday. Bank holidays confuse me. Having missed Tiny Tuesday, I decided to take the macro lens outside on Wednesday. I've not used it much for a while; I've not been feeling very patient or motivated, and have mostly just looked around for a quick snap on my compact. I enjoyed taking lots of photos of the Japanese anemones, and have struggled to decide on a favourite - they are such beautifully photogenic flowers, with their crisp, bright stamens and soft, elegant yet rumpled petals. They are not at their best this year, as most of their border was squashed under a fallen pine tree and all the associated debris in the spring. Consequently, they've had no weeding or care and are choked with bindweed. However, they have fought their way through the mess and the drought, and I'm grateful. 

Wednesday was my most energetic and motivated day for a while, as J had slept a bit better. P made scones for breakfast, and it was a beautiful, bright, breezy day. I managed quite a lot of little jobs, including tidying and tying up tomato plants, potting on cauliflowers and autumn lettuces which languished for too long in seed trays during the extended hospital stay, and picking tomatoes and elderberries. It felt good to be outside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.