Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Uh Oh!

It's rattlesnake time of year. We have to watch our steps, even in our own yards, especially where I live, butted up against the desert.

Just this week I've seen the fire truck twice in my neighborhood. That's who you call when you see a snake in your yard. The trusty firemen. They come with their snatch pole and snake box. Then they release them in the desert.

The first year I lived here I had one curled up in the shade in the corner of my patio. It wasn't very big. At that time, I didn't know what I was supposed to do - so I did nothing. Next time I looked, it was gone.

I cautiously looked around the yard. It's different shades of brown and red-ish stones and it would blend in, but it wasn't there. I breathed a sigh of relief. It was soon after, when I told my story that I learned about the firemen. I've called them ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.