Wide-on-Wednesday: Pub or Restaurant

Bobsblips has set “Pub or Restaurant” for today’s Widwed challenge, so I took the opportunity to take a shot of the New New Bengal restaurant on Gosforth High Street as I drove home from visiting my Dad in his care home.

“Why the ‘New New’ in the name?” you may ask? Well, there’s been a restaurant here since at least the 1970s and in the years leading up to September 2014 it was called the “New Bengal Restaurant”. However it suffered an arson attack then and went up in flames rather dramatically in the early hours – paradoxical as you can see that it’s next to a Fire Station(!), although that didn’t help as that Fire Station was decommissioned about 1990 after 96 years of use and now has other uses.

Undeterred, the owners had the place renovated after the fire, hence the additional “New” in the name. I confess that I’ve never eaten there as I’m not a big fan of Indian food and such food doesn’t agree with my Editor, but I’ve heard good reports about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.